Further to - and probably in response to - our earlier coverage, ZENIT, the Catholic news agency who published Edward Pentin’s puff piece about CellAdam, has distanced itself from the article:
CELLADAM CANCER DRUG
ROME, JAN. 26, 2009 (Zenit.org).- ZENIT would like to inform readers interested in CellAdam, the anti-cancer treatment discussed in last week’s Rome Notes column by Edward Pentin titled the “Believe-It-or-Not Cancer Drug,” that while the product may be as effective as the article suggests, ZENIT cannot and does not officially endorse the treatment.
The views expressed were those of the writer, who was impressed by the faith and sincerity of the company’s Catholic directors and their belief in the treatment’s effectiveness. We recommend that readers interested in the drug do their own research, or wait for the results of the clinical trials that will be completed in the next few years.
The statement was released as questions began to emerge about the business practices of BioStemWorld, the company behind CellAdam.
BioStemWorld has a UK division, with a website that has changed since we first reported on this story. The product details are gone, and a single page now reads “under construction”. One Counterknowledge.com reader tells us that the US website has changed in the last few days too. The US website, curiously, is registered in Panama. All very odd.
This is from their US website:
Here is how you can become a Millionaire in 9 months by promoting the most promising all-natural products in the world.
As you can see from the table below if you participate in our Network building effort by sponsoring ONLY 2 people (every month for 9 months) and motivate them to duplicate your effort, you will reach the condition that will entitle you to the option of receiving One Million Dollars or continue to receive a very generous monthly commission. You will also provide the same empowering benefits within the first year to the first 6 to 8 people that you will sponsor. What a motivation for them to assist you to achieve these goals. Can you imagine a greater opportunity in life while at the same time you will promote the 3 most promising, revolutionary all-natural products?
When an Associate has at least 20 1st level associates and at least 10 2nd level associates and his entire network has at least 6,000 people, if Associate wishes to sell his entire network to Company, Company agrees to purchase the same for $500,000.00. Once the total number in Associate’s network reaches 10,000 and Associate is interested in selling his network, Company agrees to purchase the same from Associate for $1,000,000.00.

Is BioStemWorld operating a pyramid scheme? The answer appears to hang on the definition of a “genuine product”. If CellAdam and the other products advertised on BioStemWorld’s website are “genuine”, then BioStemWorld is a (perfectly legal) multi-level marketing (MLM) scheme - like Avon or Tupperware.
Deciding whether CellAdam is a “genuine product” is left as an exercise to the reader. But before you make up your mind, be sure to read this and this.
If you enjoyed this post, why not subscribe to our RSS feed or follow us on Twitter? You might also consider making a donation to the Counterknowledge.com fighting fund.
Click here to sign up for free RSS updates.
Download the free
Join 



7 responses
Just when you thought they couldn’t get any more dodgy.
Ferguson, dude, stop spamming. You’ve left that same stupid comment on every CK post about CellAdam. Since none of your four points of “evidence” are actually evidence, it’s not very productive.
help me bust ‘em…….www.twitter.com/ponzibuster
ponzibuster@gmail.com
have any info?
let’s share
http://twitter.com/ponzibuster
Ok, this is getting to be a nightmare!
Now, Biostemworld has the CellAdam ‘non-clinical studies’ on their (oh, sorry the CellAdam International - aka pass the buck!) website.
Both President Janossy, and Chairman Beke claim the CellAdam is a ‘food supplement’. They also realize that you cannot attribute ‘therapeutic properties’ to a food supplement.
If they claim it has therapeutic properties, then it is considered to be a ‘drug’ and must be approved by the F.D.A. in the U.S., and the medical authorities in all countries.
Please see the study here: http://www.celladam.com/study.html.
First off, on point 2, it states “DRUG CHEMISTRY INFORMATION” (what’s that, “DRUG”????).
See the properties and side effects throughout, which include the fact that it could stop your breathing, cause a stroke, thin your blood, and may not be able to clear from your body if you are comprised renally (cannot pass through urine).
Sounds like a drug, acts like a drug, and needs to be treated like a drug. It does not even have an F.D.A. food label on the packaging, which is all in Hungarian, and it is being shipped this way worldwide. Can you say health risk?
Future lawsuits? Compromising patient safety?
How is a patient’s doctor supposed to know what is happening with his patient, when this ‘food supplement’ can be freely taken on the side, and in fact, the doctor may not even know about it!
In short, how many people will this kill, because it is not regulated properly? For the love of God, somebody step in and put a stop to this.
Help us at: http://www.twitter.com/ponzibuster
and ponzibuster.blogspot.com
Just in case you think things are great:
http://www.biostemworld.com/id/if_you_think_you_get_credit_for_referring_your_friend_why_does_this_user_name_work
Don’t worry, somebody is getting your money!
Let’s expose this!
http://twitter.com/ponzibuster
i have tried selling different products from Multi Level Marketing and i can earn a decent amount of money from them.-~`